Making under floor storage.


In our log house we have two under floor storage boxes now and they will be useful for storing food or earthquake emergency goods. Our house is rather small and we have to think about storage seriously.

When I made the sub-floor my wife decided the best position for the storage box and I made a space measuring 60.5cm x 60.5cm.

IMG_0237

The storage box comes as a kit and you get a plastic box, aluminium frame and some other parts to make the lid.

IMG_1038

Our floorboards are 27 mm thick and that meant I couldn’t use some of the parts that came with the kit. Standard floorboards in Japan must be 15 mm as all the kit parts are set up for 15 mm. However, I could use these two metal strips, they helped to join the floorboards together to make the lid.

IMG_1041

The lid stuck up a bit higher than the floor so I had to sand the edges down to 25 mm.

IMG_1042

The handle for the lid is also pre made for a 15mm floor so again I had to sand the wood down to make the handle fit.

IMG_1043

Oh no !     The lid didn’t fit so I had to cut off about 1 cm to make it fit. On my first try it fit just right but when the plastic storage box was in place the lid didn’t fit properly.

IMG_1050

This is the plastic storage box, it is quite large and will provide lots of valuable storage space.

IMG_1048

This is how it looks when it is finished, we used the same  wood as the floor so it blends in and you hardly notice it. Our fridge will stand in the corner and we will walk over the lid everyday. I think we have chosen a good position, according to the instructions you should avoid a position where people stand, for example near the sink or near the cooker.IMG_1045

I was surprised to notice that this storage box kit was made by Panasonic, I thought they only made electronics. Anyway our house is an interesting mix of  ” Made in Finland ”  and ” Made in Japan ”  .

.

Leave a comment